Speech Master 2016, Where Speakers become Legends

Speech Master 2016, Where Speakers become Legends

- in Events, Social

A renowned and well-established club in the university, the Gavel Club of University of Sri Jayewardenepura brings the acclaimed inter university public speaking contest, “Speech Master 2016” to life for a third consecutive year. The club which was established in 2011 is an affiliate to Toastmasters International District 82, lands on this significant milestone following the grand success of the 2nd installment of the contest which was held last year. Speech Master 2015 brought together more than 220 participants from more than 90 state and private universities and institutes and this year’s contest will undoubtedly be the destination of the local youth who’s interested in the field of public speaking. Speech Master 2016 provides its contestants with an international platform to showcase and fine-tune their public speaking and leadership skills as the club itself strives to develop effective communication and presentation skills in each of its members.

Emulating to great heights, the contest aims at discovering hidden talent across the country as well as providing the contestants to compete with International contestants in order to broaden the horizon of dimensions of public speaking. The preliminary round of this year’s contest was held on the 25th of September with a participation of more than 300 contestants from different universities and educational institutes and more than 50 experienced Toastmasters at Sri Jayewardenepura University premises. 51 Semi Finalists have been chosen to compete in the Semi Final round on the 06th of October at the university premises. Six international Semi Finalists have already been selected to compete in the Finals via strict evaluation under a prominent panel of Toastmasters and the Grand Finale of the contest will award the winner with a cash price of LKR 100,000 which will take place on the 09th of October at the Kingsbury Colombo.

The list of selected semi finalists as follows.

Kindly note that the results are not in any particular order.

1. Manthi Pabasari Seneviratne – General Sir John Kotelawala Defence University

2. Shuaib Jabbar – Royal Institute of Colombo

3. Prashani Praveena Goonathilake – Royal Institute, Colombo 05

4. Mohomed Afnan – Institute of chemistry – College of Chemical Sciences

5. Sahan Gunarathne – Institute of chemistry – College of Chemical Sciences

6. Shareef Mihlar – Achievers Lanka Business School

7. Matheesha Udawatte – BMS

8. Devindi Gunarathne – University of Moratuwa

9. Roshani Madurawala – Institute of chemistry – College of Chemical Sciences

10.Buddhi Pathiraja – Institute of Chartered Accountants

11.Madusha de Silva – University of Sri Jayewardenepura

12.M. B. Devni Yasara Silva – University of Sri Jayawardenapura

13.Athithan Arunthavarajah – Institute of Certified Management Accountants of Sri Lanka

14.Tharinya Sellathurai – Sri Lanka Institute of Information Technology

15.Surani Wijesiriwardena – University of Sri Jayewardenepura

16.Kalani Kulathilaka – University of Sri Jayawardenapura

17.Shehani Rajendra-Achievers Lanka Business School

18.Dilani Jayatilake – Sri Lanka Law College

19.Kanchana Ranasinghe – University of Moratuwa

20.Mariyam Masharik – CFPS Law School

21.Thisuri Dematagoda – Informatics Institute of Technology

22.Amrit Singalaxana – General Sir John Kotelawala Defence University

23.Kanchana Asirini Ganegoda – National School of Business Management, Colombo

24.Munasinghe Arachchige Gimhani Anjali – Institute of chemistry – College of Chemical Sciences

25.Tharindu Senanayake – University of Moratuwa

26.Jeyakumaran Pramila – ICBT Kandy Campus

27.Nathasha Sirisena – University of Sri Jayawardenapura

28.Oshira Peiris – University of Colombo

29.Paba Piyarathne – University of Colombo

30.Fathima Shazna Gafoor – ICBT Kandy Campus

31.Dulanjan Uduge – University Of Moratuwa

32.Sahana Nandakumar – KBBS Campus.Dehiwala

33.Minindu Thisara Ekanayake – University of Sri Jayewardenapura

34.Kasun Udara Ranasinghe – University of Moratuwa

35.Malith Jayaweera – University of Moratuwa

36.Vera Vimukthini Jayakody – ICBT Kandy Campus

37.Dewni Rathnapriya – University of Sri Jayewardenepura

38.Kevin Jansz – University of Sri Jayewardenepura

39.Sandaru Senavirathne – University of Moratuwa

40.Ishara Oushadi De Silva Devanarayana – Edulink International Campus Colombo

41.Shahra Zubair – BMS

42.Asitha Rathnayake – University of Moratuwa

43.Lahiruni Ekanayake – University of Colombo

44.Shenali Fernando – University of Colombo

45.Avanthi Hapugalle – University of Sri Jayewardenepura

46.Gadjen Suryakumar – Colombo Institute of Research and Psychology

47.Ralani Edirisinghe– University of Peradeniya

48.Dewni Wanigaarachchi – National Institute of Business Management.Colombo

49.Shalani Samaranayake – University of Peradeniya

50.Dilshan Fernando – South Asian Institute of Technology and Medicine

51.Fadil Iqbal – University of Colombo

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *